Success Story

A member in Crewe writes:

A member in Crewe writes:

Recently I was involved in a TUPE transfer process after the contract I was on was terminated by the customer. A couple of months before I was placed in scope for TUPE I had also been told by my manager that he had been informed by HR that I no longer worked for his business unit, so he couldnít do my appraisal. This left me in no manís land, without a manager.
During TUPE I was assigned a different manager back in the same business unit, and a role in BreakFix was mentioned as an option. Shortly I found myself in a position of having to take a role that I didnít really want. I felt as though this role was a demotion, as I had been a TSS4 working in Infrastructure. Consequently all TUPE options seemed to have been taken away from me.
Luckily I had joined the Unite union a few months before. I was so glad I did.
I felt as though I was being forced into the unwanted role, which was also making me feel a lot of stress.
I contacted one of my union reps who advised me that what was happening to me was wrong and helped me out with all the knowledge and confidence I needed to fight the decision.
I now know much more about my rights regarding my contract and the process involved if you feel aggrieved in your working environment.
I fought the decision to put me into a role that I didnít want through the Grievance process and ultimately I managed to find a role myself that was much more suited, with career prospects.
I would highly recommend joining the Unite union, they give you the knowledge and confidence to stand up for yourself and achieve the rights you deserve
.

Posted in news
Sign the petition – defend the union

Unite members across Fujitsu Services Limited in the UK are fighting over job security, for union recognition, against victimisation of reps, and over pay and pensions. Members nationally took industrial from 28 February including 15 days of strikes and ongoing action short of strike, after 12 days of local strikes in Manchester.

INDUSTRIAL ACTION IS CURRENTLY SUSPENDED but members have voted by 92% to reject a company offer.

Further information is available here including a downloadable appeal for support leaflet and how to donate to our strike fund.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archive
